South Caucasus

Stories under this heading cover the South Caucasus – a region encompassing Armenia, Azerbaijan and Georgia, as well as the unrecognised entities of Abkhazia, South Ossetia, and Nagorno-Karabakh.

Filter archive

NATO PA webinar on the South Caucasus - 30 November 2020

The NATO parliamentary Assembly hosted another in the series of Rose-Roth Seminars on Monday (30 November), focusing on the situation in the South Caucasus. Recent developments including the war in Karabakh and parliamentary elections in Georgia were discussed by an expert panel, including Dennis Sammut, Neil Melvin and Amanda Paul, after which MPs from several countries made comments and asked questions. You can watch the webinair in full here.
Editor's choice
Opinion: Turkey is the new major power in the South Caucasus

Opinion: Turkey is the new major power in the South Caucasus

Turkey has challenged Russian monopoly in the South Caucasus. Ankara's deep military partnership with neighboring Azerbaijan, and its decision to openly support the latter during the fighting in the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict zone significantly asserted its role in the conflict and the region, argues Fuad Shahabzov in this op-ed